Mon to Sat, 10am to 6pm  ·  Closed Sunday 905-604-7555

Average Funeral Cost in Canada by Province 2026

Last updated: October 18, 2026

The average funeral cost in Canada is about $7,793, based on the Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report. This guide also uses Statistics Canada, CANA, government data, and industry sources to compare funeral costs by province in 2026. In 2026, the lowest burial package at seven funeral homes in one national chain runs from $10,314 in Regina to $13,974 in Toronto, before cemetery costs. Quebec’s funeral cooperative federation reports a lower average of $4,570, also before cemetery fees. Direct cremation is the lowest cost option: published prices in seven large cities ran from $975 to $2,445 in October 2026, most of them before tax.

Key Takeaways

  • The national average funeral cost in Canada is $7,793 (Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024)
  • At seven funeral homes in one national chain, the lowest 2026 burial package runs from $10,314 in Regina to $13,974 in Toronto, before cemetery costs (published price lists)
  • Quebec’s funeral cooperative federation reports an average of $4,570 per funeral, before the plot and interment fees (FCFQ, January 2026)
  • Canada’s cremation rate reached 77.4% in 2025, up from 74.0% in 2021 (CANA industry statistics)
  • Published direct cremation prices in seven large cities ran from $975 in Vancouver to $2,445 near Saskatoon in October 2026 (named provider price lists)
  • 46% of Canadians believe they cannot afford a funeral (Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024)
  • The CPP Death Benefit has a basic amount of $2,500. That is less than a third of the national average funeral cost. For deaths on or after January 1, 2025, it may include an additional $2,500. The maximum is $5,000. The CPP coverage comparisons in this report use the basic amount.
  • Canada’s funeral industry generates $1.6 billion in annual revenue across 2,598 businesses (IBISWorld 2025)
  • 326,779 Canadians died in 2024, slightly down 0.2% from 2023 (Statistics Canada, Deaths 2024)
  • 7.6 million Canadians are 65+; by 2030 seniors will represent 21.4–23.4% of the population (Statistics Canada)
  • Natural burial cemeteries tripled in Canada since 2018 (Natural Burial Association)
  • In one illustration, a Toronto burial is about $24,200 using York Cemetery’s published charges, the lowest complete cemetery-billed stack among the Toronto cemeteries in this dataset, plus national average service, casket, and monument costs. York’s cemetery charges are before HST; the source does not state the tax basis of the national averages. Published monument lot prices in the dataset run from $4,115 at Resurrection in Whitby to $94,689 at Mount Pleasant.

This national guide is designed for Canadians comparing funeral costs by province. For a local Ontario and GTA breakdown, read our guide to average funeral costs in Ontario and Toronto.

Average Funeral Cost in Canada by Province

We found no Canadian government source that publishes an average funeral cost by province. To compare provinces, we used the 2026 price lists that one national funeral home chain publishes online, taking one funeral home in each of seven cities. The lowest burial package at each, casket included, runs from $10,314 in Regina to $13,974 in Toronto. Cemetery costs come on top, and they vary even more. In the GTA, land values push some cemetery prices into five figures. Lower prices exist too. When Ontario’s Auditor General compared 125 price lists in 2020, funeral service prices with a casket included ranged from $2,155 to $5,785 across the province’s regions. The territories are different again. In Iqaluit, a November 2019 funeral invoice came to $4,635 including GST, and the city charged nothing for the grave or plot (City of Iqaluit, 2020).

Published package prices

One chain’s lowest burial package in seven cities

Each bar is the lowest burial package on one Dignity Memorial funeral home’s 2026 price list, without catering or a burial vault. A casket is included. Cemetery costs are extra. Scale shown from $0 to $16,000.

2026 price lists
Toronto, ON
$13,974
Vancouver, BC
$13,559
Winnipeg, MB
$11,834
Sydney Mines, NS
$11,459
Calgary, AB
$11,423
Brossard, QC
$10,794
Regina, SK
$10,314

Sources: Dignity Memorial package price lists for Delmoro Funeral Home (Toronto, effective September 3, 2026), Mount Pleasant Universal Funeral Home (Vancouver, June 30, 2026), Thomson In The Park (Winnipeg, June 2, 2026), Fillmore & Whitman Funeral Home (Sydney Mines, August 14, 2026), South Calgary Funeral Centre (July 14, 2026), La Maison Darche (Brossard, September 26, 2026) and Lee Funeral Home (Regina, August 4, 2026). Each figure is the package price as printed, after the listed package savings, without catering and without a vault or liner. The Sydney Mines package includes no catering and lists no savings. The recommended caskets in these packages are priced from $2,999 to $4,699. These are one chain’s prices, not provincial averages. We found no Canadian government source that publishes an average funeral cost by province.

For families in Ontario, the best way to understand the real cost is to separate funeral home fees, casket or urn selection, cemetery charges, transportation, documents, and optional services. Costs can change significantly between the GTA, smaller cities, and rural communities. To get a clearer Toronto specific estimate, use Haven Casket’s funeral cost estimator to compare common funeral and burial expenses before making arrangements.

Burial vs. Cremation: Costs and Choice

Canada’s cremation rate reached 77.4% in 2025, up from 74.0% in 2021 (CANA industry statistics). Four Canadian provinces already exceed an 80% cremation rate (CANA, most recent available 2022–2023 data). The price gap explains most of it: a direct cremation in Vancouver can cost under $1,000, while the lowest burial package at one Vancouver funeral home is $13,559 before cemetery costs. A gap of more than $12,000 per death is not a preference signal. It’s an economic one. The city prices below come from named providers’ own price lists.

Direct cremation pricing

Lowest published direct cremation price we found in seven cities

Each bar is the lowest direct cremation price a named provider in that city published in October 2026. We found no published price in Charlottetown, Moncton or St. John’s. Scale shown from $0 to $2,500.

Lowest: Vancouver
Vancouver, BC
$975
Montreal, QC
$1,125
Calgary, AB
$1,395
Toronto, ON
$1,480
Winnipeg, MB
$1,695
Halifax, NS
$1,850
Saskatoon area, SK
$2,445

Sources (price lists checked October 2026): Amherst Funeral & Cremation Services, Vancouver ($975 including taxes; the cremation takes place at its crematorium in Blaine, Washington; a transfer from a home or care facility adds $195); Direct Cremation Services, Montreal ($1,125 plus taxes, after a $125 online discount); Affordable Cremation Calgary ($1,395 plus GST); Sensible Choice, Toronto ($1,480, listed as all inclusive); Ethical Death Care, Winnipeg ($1,695 plus GST); Harbourside Cremation, Halifax ($1,850 plus HST, effective September 1, 2026); Martens Warman Funeral Home, Warman, near Saskatoon (from $2,445, container extra). What each price includes differs, so check transfer, tax and death certificate fees before comparing.

The affordability difference becomes even clearer when the service types are separated. “Cremation” is not one single product. A direct cremation is the lowest cost option because it removes the viewing, embalming, formal ceremony, reception, and many merchandise costs from the arrangement. Families can still hold a private memorial later, but they are not paying funeral home facility fees or full service staffing charges upfront.

By contrast, burial almost always carries fixed third party costs that are difficult to avoid. Even a simplified direct burial may require a cemetery plot, opening and closing fees, a burial container, transportation, and sometimes a grave liner or vault depending on cemetery rules. A traditional burial funeral adds the full ceremony layer on top of those cemetery costs: cemetery plots, visitation, embalming, professional services, casket, hearse, flowers, clergy or celebrant fees, and reception costs.

This is why the gap between cremation and burial is wider than the headline numbers suggest. Direct cremation can often be arranged for under $2,500 in many Canadian cities, while traditional burial routinely reaches five figures once cemetery and merchandise costs are included. For families comparing options under time pressure, the key question is not simply “burial or cremation?” but “how much service, ceremony, and cemetery expense do we want included in the arrangement?”

Aquamation, also called water cremation or alkaline hydrolysis, sits between these categories. Its price is close to direct flame cremation: a direct aquamation was $1,295 plus tax in Manitoba and $1,995.50 all in in Ontario on 2026 price lists. It is legal in Ontario, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Newfoundland and Labrador, Manitoba and the Northwest Territories, but not in British Columbia or Alberta. Where it is offered, it gives families another lower impact alternative that avoids many of the cemetery costs attached to burial.

Disposition cost comparison

Direct cremation vs. burial and other funeral options in Canada

Each range spans examples from named 2026 price lists, not national averages. The two cremation service rows are one national funeral home chain’s packages. Direct cremation and aquamation cost less than most traditional burial and full service funeral packages. Scale shown from $0 to $20,000.

2026 price lists
Direct cremation
$975–$2,445No service included
Cremation with memorial service
$6,659–$10,804One chain’s packages: memorial service, urn, casket or container
Full service cremation funeral
$8,844–$13,509One chain’s packages: embalming, full service, ceremonial or rental casket, cremation
Direct or graveside burial
$2,295–$4,420Funeral home charges before cemetery costs; some exclude the casket
Traditional burial funeral
$3,235–$16,424Before cemetery costs; some prices exclude the casket
Aquamation
$1,295–$3,995Legal in ON, QC, SK, NL, MB and the NWT

Sources: direct cremation, the seven city price lists in the chart above; memorial and full service cremation, Dignity Memorial package price lists for Brossard, Regina, Sydney Mines, Calgary, Winnipeg, Vancouver and Toronto (2026, after package savings, without catering); direct or graveside burial, Sage Funeral Home, Regina (graveside service from $2,295, casket not included), Ethical Death Care, Winnipeg ($3,745, casket included, cemetery property excluded) and The Simple Alternative, Toronto ($4,420 graveside burial service before disbursements, effective July 1, 2026); traditional burial, the same Dignity Memorial lists (burial packages without catering, before cemetery costs) and Sage Funeral Home, Regina ($3,235, casket extra); aquamation, Tillwell, Headingley, MB ($1,295 plus tax, effective January 20, 2026), Aquamations.ca, Ontario ($1,995.50 all in) and Central Funeral Homes, Grand Falls-Windsor, NL ($3,995 plus HST and transportation); legal status from the Cremation Association of North America. Prices exclude tax unless the source includes it.

What Drives the Bill: Itemized Cost Breakdown

The average funeral director fee in Canada is now $2,741, a 27% jump from $2,163 the prior year (Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024). That single line item is just the starting point. Cemetery costs in major urban centres can
match or exceed everything else combined.

Add it all up in Toronto. Professional fees, a casket, a lot that takes a monument, and the headstone come to about $24,200 in one illustration built on York Cemetery’s published charges, and reach about $106,000 in a selected high end Mount Pleasant example. Cemetery charges in both illustrations are before HST; the source does not state the tax basis of the national averages.

Itemized funeral costs

What drives the funeral bill in Canada

Funeral costs are rarely one single fee. Professional services, merchandise, cemetery charges, transportation, documents, and ceremony-related costs can each add hundreds or thousands of dollars to the final bill. The ranges below are examples from named price lists, not averages. Scale shown from $0 to $20,000.

Cost components
Funeral director professional fee
$1,105–$4,860Survey average: $2,741
Casket
$750–$20,000+Survey average: $2,869
Headstone / monument
$940–$10,885York Cemetery, Toronto. Survey average: $3,157
Limousine service
$195–$645Per car
Cemetery plot, city
$2,290–$9,750Toronto: $12,224 to $80,761
Cemetery plot, rural township
$550–$1,750Resident rates; nonresidents pay more
Opening and closing grave
$675–$2,624Adult casket, base fee
Grave vault / liner
$1,200–$6,970Optional at some cemeteries
Embalming
$395–$995Not required by law in Ontario
Death certificates
$15–$55Standard service; ON: $15 / BC: $27
Flowers / casket spray
$150–$550Ontario florist prices
Clergy / celebrant
$200–$500Suggested honorarium
Catering / reception
$595–$2,695Optional gathering or reception

Sources: Professional fees: La Maison Darche (Brossard, effective September 26, 2026) and Cruikshank’s (Halifax, May 19, 2026). Caskets: Carson Funeral Homes (Orillia, January 1, 2025) and La Maison Darche, whose top bronze casket is $22,999. Monuments, markers and vaults: York Cemetery (Toronto, July 1, 2026, on the Mount Pleasant Group price lists page) and City of Hamilton (January 1, 2026). Limousines: Fillmore & Whitman (Sydney Mines, August 14, 2026) and Assumption Catholic Funeral Home (Mississauga, August 31, 2026). City plots: Saskatoon (January 1, 2026) and Beechwood Cemetery (Ottawa, July 31, 2026); Toronto figures are adult graves at York and Mount Pleasant cemeteries (Mount Pleasant Group, July 1, 2026). Rural plots: Hastings Highlands and Perth East (2026). Opening and closing: Parry Sound (2026) and Courtenay (July 29, 2026). Embalming: Wm. Kipp Funeral Home (Paris, October 1, 2025) and La Maison Darche; Ontario’s Auditor General (2020) notes that embalming is not required by law in Ontario. Death certificates: ServiceOntario, BC Vital Statistics and Quebec’s Directeur de l’état civil. Flowers: Ital Florist (Toronto). Clergy: Northview Funeral Chapel (London) price list. Catering: Dignity Memorial package price lists for Regina and Calgary (2026). Survey averages: Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024, what 1,500 people who had arranged a funeral reported paying. The price ranges are examples from named price lists, not averages. Prices exclude tax and cemetery regulatory fees unless the source includes them.

One practical way families can reduce the final bill is by purchasing their own casket or monument directly through Haven Casket & Monument rather than relying only on funeral home merchandise. In Ontario, a funeral home cannot charge you an extra fee for a casket you did not buy from them. Haven Casket & Monument offers caskets and monuments with transparent online pricing, giving families a clearer way to compare costs before committing to a funeral arrangement.

The Affordability Gap and Government Benefits

46% of Canadians believe they cannot afford a funeral (Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024).

The federal government’s primary response, the CPP Death Benefit, pays a basic $2,500. For deaths on or after January 1, 2025, it may include an additional $2,500. Against the national average of $7,793, the basic amount covers 32 cents on the dollar. Against an illustrative Toronto burial of about $24,200, it covers about 10 cents. Against a roughly $106,000 high end Mount Pleasant example, it covers under 3 cents. Cemetery charges in both illustrations are before HST; the source does not state the tax basis of the national averages.

The Funeral Service Association of Canada has called on Ottawa to increase the benefit, citing Statistics Canada data showing over 10% of Canadian seniors live at or below the poverty line (Benefits and Pensions Monitor 2024). The CPP Death Benefit has not kept pace with funeral cost inflation in decades.

Affordability gap

How much the $2,500 CPP Death Benefit covers

Canada’s CPP Death Benefit starts at a basic $2,500, and the chart below uses that amount. It can cover more than half of an average Quebec cooperative funeral before cemetery fees, but only a small share of an illustrative Toronto burial once cemetery, merchandise, and service costs are included. When the deceased meets the conditions for the additional amount, the total benefit can be as much as $5,000.

CPP: $2,500
Quebec cooperatives$4,570
~55%
Canada avg.$7,793
~32%
Toronto package$13,974
~18%
Toronto burial$24,200
~10%
$7,793National average funeral cost
46%Canadians who believe they cannot afford a funeral
$24.2KIllustrative Toronto burial, York cemetery charges plus national averages
Covered by CPP Death Benefit Out-of-pocket gap

Sources: Government of Canada CPP Death Benefit; Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024; Fédération des coopératives funéraires du Québec, quoted by Insurance Portal (January 2026); Delmoro Funeral Home package price list (Toronto, effective September 3, 2026). Coverage percentages are calculated against the listed funeral cost examples.

Provincial funeral assistance

What provinces pay toward a basic funeral

When the estate and family cannot pay, some provinces cover a basic funeral up to a set limit. These are program limits, not average prices.

Published limits
Province and programMost the program pays
Newfoundland and Labrador
Funeral Assistance Benefit
Up to $5,000 for professional fees, plus up to $1,500 for other costs
Alberta
Funeral benefits, effective January 1, 2026
Up to $4,601 for the funeral, $1,041 for a ceremony and $781 for embalming, plus cemetery fees
Nova Scotia
Income Assistance help with funeral costs
Up to $3,800 plus tax in total
Quebec
Social assistance special benefit for funeral costs
Up to $2,500
British Columbia
Burial or cremation supplement, rate table effective August 1, 2026
Up to $1,685 for the funeral provider’s basic service fee, plus up to $200 for an urn

Sources: Governments of Newfoundland and Labrador, Alberta, Nova Scotia, Quebec and British Columbia. Each program has its own eligibility rules. We list only the limits we could confirm on a current government page.

36% of funerals in Canada are paid for through an insurance policy, and among those families, 81% said they were able to afford the send off their loved one wanted. Pre-planning offers a similar advantage by helping families make decisions in advance and protect against future cost increases. Funeral service prices rose about 2.4% a year from 2015 to 2025, based on Statistics Canada figures. Haven Casket and Monument’s pre-planning service gives families a transparent way to plan ahead, with funds held in trust until needed and no sales pressure or hidden markups.

Canada’s Funeral Industry: Size and Structure

Canada’s funeral sector generates $1.6 billion in annual revenue but has contracted at a 2.2% compound annual rate from 2020 to 2025 (IBISWorld Canada Funeral Homes Industry 2025), even while annual death volumes held near 327,000. The contradiction resolves quickly: cremation services generate far less revenue per transaction than traditional burials, compressing margins across the industry. The sector is heavily small business dominated, 38.3% of employer establishments have just 1–4 employees, and only 8 firms nationally qualify as medium or large.

Funeral industry structure

Canada’s funeral industry by the numbers

Canada’s funeral sector generates significant annual revenue, but the market remains heavily small-business dominated. Most employer establishments have fewer than 100 employees, with only a tiny share classified as medium or large firms.

2025 data
MetricValueSource
Total industry revenue (2025)$1.6 billionIBISWorld Canada Funeral Homes 2025
Revenue CAGR 2020–2025−2.2%IBISWorld Canada 2025
Total funeral businesses in Canada2,598IBISWorld Canada 2025
Employer establishments1,370ISED Statistics Canada tabulation 2025
Micro businesses (1–4 employees)38.3% of employersISED 2025
Small businesses (5–99 employees)61.1% of employersISED 2025
Medium + large businesses (100+ employees)0.6% combinedISED 2025
Ontario — employer establishments491ISED 2025
Quebec — employer establishments289ISED 2025
British Columbia — employer establishments128ISED 2025
Alberta — employer establishments108ISED 2025
Nova Scotia — employer establishments84ISED 2025

Sources: IBISWorld Canada Funeral Homes Industry Analysis 2025; ISED Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada: Funeral Services (NAICS 8122), Statistics Canada special tabulation 2025.

Alternative Dispositions: Aquamation, Green Burial, and Cooperatives

The Natural Burial Association told Global News that the number of cemeteries offering natural burial had tripled since 2018 (Global News, January 2025). Land scarcity in urban centres is as much a driver as environmental values. Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Toronto publishes adult graves at $41,917–$80,761.20 and lots that take an upright monument at $46,593–$94,689. Against numbers like those, a green burial, with cemetery charges of about $4,200 to $8,300 at cemeteries in Winnipeg and Victoria in 2026, becomes financially rational no matter how the buyer feels about the environment. The fastest growing segment within alternatives is pre-planned green services, which now account for 38.7% of
the green funeral market (Emergen Research, Green Funerals Market 2024).

Quebec’s cooperative funeral network is in a category of its own. The Fédération des coopératives funéraires du Québec reports an average of $4,570 per funeral at its member cooperatives, before the plot and interment fees (Insurance Portal, January 2026). Cooperatives are owned by their members. No equivalent model operates at scale elsewhere in Canada.

Alternative dispositions

Alternative funeral options can significantly reduce total costs

Direct cremation, green burial, and aquamation generally sit below the upper cost range of traditional burial. The ranges are examples from named 2026 price lists, not national averages. Scale shown from $0 to $20,000.

Cost comparison
Direct cremation
$975–$2,445Lowest cost option; no service included
Green burial
$4,220–$8,275Cemetery charges only; funeral home costs extra
Aquamation
$1,295–$3,995Legal in ON, QC, SK, NL, MB and the NWT
Cremation + service
$8,844–$13,509One chain’s packages: embalming, full service, ceremonial or rental casket, cremation
Traditional burial
$3,235–$16,424Before cemetery costs; some prices exclude the casket

Sources: as in the comparison chart above, plus green burial cemetery charges (plot and opening and closing) at Brookside Cemetery, Winnipeg ($2,530 plus $1,690, effective January 1, 2026) and Royal Oak Burial Park, Victoria ($5,195 plus a $1,735 care fund plus $1,345, February 2026). Prices exclude tax unless the source includes it.

Find a natural burial ground by province: Green Burial Society of Canada maintains a national directory.

7.6 million Canadians are currently 65 or older, 18.9% of the total population (Statistics Canada, Older Adults and Population Aging, July 2023). By 2030, that share rises to 21.4–23.4% as the last of the baby boom cohort crosses 65
(Statistics Canada Population Projections 2023–2073). Annual death volumes, already 326,779 in 2024, will climb materially over the next decade, driving sustained demand for funeral services even as per transaction revenue
continues to compress due to the cremation shift.

Cost inflation compounds the demand increase. At about 2.4% a year, a funeral that costs $9,000 today would cost about $10,100 in 2031.

Demographic and market outlook

The forces shaping funeral demand in Canada

Aging demographics, high cremation adoption, rising annual deaths, and steady funeral cost inflation continue to shape how Canadian families plan and pay for end-of-life arrangements.

Current + projected trends
Canadians aged 65+7.6M18.9% of the population today, projected to reach 21.4–23.4% by 2030
Annual deaths (2024)326,7790.2% below 2023, but an aging population is expected to push deaths higher
Cremation rate (2025)77.4%Projected to reach 81.1% by 2030
Funeral service inflation2.4%Average yearly rise in funeral service prices, 2015 to 2025
Metric
Current Value
Projection
Source
Canadians aged 65+
7.6M / 18.9%
21.4–23.4% by 2030 Rising
Statistics Canada Projections 2023–2073
Annual deaths (2024)
326,779
Increasing trend Rising
Annual deaths (2023)
327,546
—
Statistics Canada, Deaths 2023
Cremation rate (2025)
77.4%
81.1% by 2030 Rising
CANA industry statistics
Provinces at 80%+ cremation
4 (2022–2023 data)
Increasing Rising
CANA (most recent available)
Annual funeral service price change
2.4% (2015 to 2025)
— Ongoing
Life expectancy (2024)
82.16 years
—
Statistics Canada, Deaths 2024
Planning insight: Pre-planning is one of the clearest ways to manage this long-term cost pressure. As funeral prices continue to rise, planning ahead can help families lock in current pricing before future inflation compounds further. Haven Casket’s pre-planning service gives GTA families a transparent way to select and prepay for arrangements in advance.

Sources: Statistics Canada Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2023 to 2073; Statistics Canada, The Daily: Deaths, 2024; CANA industry statistics; Statistics Canada, Table 36-10-0124-01 (price change calculated by Haven).

These trends point to a funeral market that will be larger in volume but more price sensitive in practice. More Canadians will need end of life services over the next decade, but a growing share of families will continue choosing cremation, simplified services, and pre-planned arrangements to keep costs manageable.

For families, the takeaway is simple: waiting usually makes funeral planning more expensive. An increase of about 2.4% a year may sound modest, but over ten years it adds about $2,400 to a $9,000 funeral. Planning ahead gives families more time to compare service types, document preferences, and avoid rushed decisions during an already difficult moment.

This is especially important in high cost markets such as the GTA, where cemetery land, professional fees, and merchandise markups can quickly push a traditional burial well above the national average. Haven Casket and Monument’s pre-planning service helps families review casket, urn, monument, and arrangement options in advance, with transparent pricing and funds held in trust until needed.

Methodology and Sources

This article aggregates data from government databases, nationally representative surveys, and verified industry association reports. We found no Canadian government source that publishes an average funeral cost by province. The provincial comparison therefore uses dated price lists that named funeral homes publish, plus government figures where they exist. Treat them as examples, not averages. No Canadian agency publishes a funeral price index either. Our inflation figure divides Statistics Canada’s household spending on funeral services in current dollars by the same spending in 2017 dollars. The Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024 is the most recent nationally representative survey of Canadian funeral costs.

Primary Sources

  • Statistics Canada, The Daily, Deaths, 2024 (January 2026): total deaths, life expectancy, causes of death
  • Statistics Canada, The Daily, Deaths, 2023 (December 2024): total deaths, year over year comparison
  • Statistics Canada, Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2023 to 2073 (June 2024): seniors share and 2030 projections
  • Statistics Canada / ISED, Funeral Services (NAICS 8122), special tabulation 2025: employer establishments by province, business size breakdown
  • Cremation Association of North America (CANA), industry statistics: cremation rates, provincial thresholds, projections to 2030
  • Seniors Choice Cost of Dying Report 2024: national average, itemized component averages, affordability survey data, payment methods
  • IBISWorld Canada Funeral Homes Industry Analysis 2025: revenue, business count, CAGR
  • Direct cremation price lists, October 2026: Amherst Funeral & Cremation Services (Vancouver), Direct Cremation Services (Montreal), Affordable Cremation Calgary, Sensible Choice (Toronto), Ethical Death Care (Winnipeg), Harbourside Cremation (Halifax), Martens Warman Funeral Home (near Saskatoon): lowest published direct cremation price by city
  • Sage Funeral Home, Regina; Ethical Death Care, Winnipeg; The Simple Alternative, Toronto; Tillwell (Headingley, MB); Aquamations.ca (Ontario); Central Funeral Homes (Grand Falls-Windsor, NL); City of Winnipeg, Brookside Cemetery (January 2026); Royal Oak Burial Park, Victoria (February 2026): burial, cremation, aquamation and green burial prices
  • Cremation Association of North America, alkaline hydrolysis (2026): provinces and territories where aquamation is legal
  • Government of Canada, CPP Death Benefit: benefit amount
  • Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Funeral Assistance Benefit (July 2024): $5,000 + $1,500
  • Last Post Fund: veteran burial and cremation benefit schedules
  • Global News (January 2025), quoting the Natural Burial Association: growth in natural burial cemeteries since 2018
  • Emergen Research, Green Funerals Market 2024: pre-planned green services market share
  • Statistics Canada, Table 36-10-0124-01, household spending on undertaking and other funeral services, current and 2017 constant prices (August 2026): funeral service price change, calculated by Haven
  • Funeral home, cemetery and government price lists (2025 and 2026) named in the itemized cost chart (Dignity Memorial, Carson, Kipp, Assumption Catholic and Northview funeral homes; Mount Pleasant Group, Beechwood and municipal cemeteries; ServiceOntario, BC Vital Statistics, Quebec Directeur de l’état civil): itemized cost ranges
  • Dignity Memorial package price lists, 2026: Delmoro Funeral Home, Toronto (effective September 3); Mount Pleasant Universal Funeral Home, Vancouver (June 30); Thomson In The Park, Winnipeg (June 2); Fillmore & Whitman Funeral Home, Sydney Mines (August 14); South Calgary Funeral Centre (July 14); La Maison Darche, Brossard (September 26); Lee Funeral Home, Regina (August 4): lowest burial package by city
  • Office of the Auditor General of Ontario, Bereavement Authority of Ontario value for money audit (December 2020): funeral service price ranges by region from 125 price lists
  • Fédération des coopératives funéraires du Québec, quoted by Insurance Portal (January 2026): average cooperative funeral cost
  • City of Iqaluit, Cemetery Advisory Committee agenda (May 2020): Iqaluit funeral invoice and cemetery fees
  • Governments of Alberta (effective January 1, 2026), British Columbia (rate table effective August 1, 2026), Nova Scotia and Quebec (updated October 1, 2026): funeral assistance limits
Call now